Smithy Close, Skelmanthorpe, Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, HD8 9DQ

01484 862 142

St Aidan's C of E Academy

Inspiring Children to Love, Laugh, Learn and Live Life in all Its Fullness (John 10:10)

Chairperson: Lynda Earnshaw
Vice-chairperson: Kayley Sykes
Foundation Governors
(Appointed by the Church)
Lynda Earnshaw 
Term start: 13th January 2024
Term expires: 12th January 2028
Business Interest: Job Earnshaws & Bros
Dorothy Gott 
Term start: 4th November 2023
Term expires: 4th November 2027
Claire Jones
Term start:21st May 2018
Term expires: 20th May 2024 
Rev. Evelyne Barrow
Ex Officio as Parish Priest
Term start: 1st September 2023
Mrs Ruth Hobson
Term start: 31st May 2021 
Term expires: 31st May 2025
Mrs Kayley Sykes
Term start: 11th June 20221
Term expires:  11th June 2025
Business Interest: YPO
Parent Governors
(Appointed by the parents of the school)
Helen Simpson
Term start: 23rd October 2020
Term expires: 23rd October 2024
Vineesh Madaan
Term start: 5th March 2024
Term expires: 4th March 2028
Community Governor
(Appointed by the Governing Body)
Community Governor Vacancy


Acting Headteacher Governor

Ali Walshe

Term start: 1st September 2023

Term expires: 31st August 2024


Staff Governor

Joanna Burkinshaw

Term start: 1st September 2023

Term expires: 31st August 2025


Associate Governor

Lisa Taylor 

Roles and Responsibilities –2023/2024
SEND Governor: Helen Simpson
Governor Training Contact: Lisa Taylor
Governor for Looked After Children: Helen Simpson
Safeguarding (child protection): Claire Jones
Staff Wellbeing: Kayley Sykes
Quality of Teaching: Claire Jones
Pupil Premium: Ruth Hobson
Collective Worship: Ruth Hobson
STEM Governor : Dot Gott
English: Joanna Burkinshaw
Maths: Anna Housley
Science: Sally Sommerville
RE: Helen Ford
Now the responsibility of all governors.
Reception Governor: Lynda Earnshaw
Year 1 Governor: Dot Gott
Year 2 Governor: Claire Jones
Year 3 Governor: Helen Simpson
Year 4 Governor: Ruth Hobson
Year 5 Governor: Kayley Sykes
Committee 1: Vision:
Ali Walshe, Claire Jones, Rev Evelyne Barrow, Helen Simpson, Ruth Hobson,
Committee 2: Health and Safety:
Ali Walshe, Jason Fisher (co-opted), Lynda Earnshaw
Staff Dismissal Committee:
Kayley Sykes, Dot Gott
Staff Dismissal Appeals Committee:
Claire Jones, Lynda Earnshaw
Pupil Discipline Committee:
Governors as required.
Pupil Admissions Committee:
Ali Walshe, Lynda Earnshaw, Dot Gott
Complaints Committee:
Governors as required.
Complaints Appeals Committee
Kayley Sykes, Lynda Earnshaw
Headteacher Performance Management Governors
Lynda Earnshaw, Kayley Sykes